Morphological embedding and phonetic reduction

Principal Investigators

Research Assistant

Annika Schebesta M.A.

Summary

Morphologically complex words are words that consist of two or more constituents, such as deepen, consisting of the base deep and the suffix -en, or careless, consisting of the base care and the suffix -less. While words like these seem structurally similar, the boundary between base and suffix has been found to differ. For example, the boundary in words containing the suffix -less is stronger than in those containing -en. Consequently, listeners are likely to decompose careless into its two constituents, and to process them separately, while deepen is more likely to be processed as a single unit without decomposing it first. The pronunciation of complex words is also affected by different boundary strengths. The two constituents at a weaker boundary show more phonological integration than those at a strong boundary, and are therefore more likely to be acoustically shortened or even deleted than in words with a strong boundary.

But the effect of different degrees of boundary strengths extends beyond complex words with only two constituents. It also constrains the order of attachment if the complex word contains two or more suffixes. In general, the boundary in the embedded form (the boundary between the base and the first suffix), is weaker than the outer boundary formed by the second suffix. For example, in the word owlishness, the boundary between owl and -ish is weaker than the boundary between the embedded form owlish and the outer suffix -ness. The reverse case, that is, a complex word in which the inner boundary is stronger than the outer boundary, is extremely rare in English.

While there is strong empirical evidence for these boundary strength differences in tri-constituent words like owlishness, it is as yet unknown whether these differences are also reflected in the speech signal. The fact that more phonetic reduction is found if the boundary is weaker in words with two constituents gives rise to the hypothesis that in tri-constituent words, more phonetic reduction is found at the inner boundary between the embedded constituents than at the outer boundary. In other words, the embedded constituents should have a relatively short acoustic duration, and should be more prone to segmental deletions, than the outer constituent.

The present project will test this hypothesis. It will first replicate the results from a pilot study that investigated tri-constituent compounds such as pizza home delivery, and which found that the embedded constituents (home delivery) were on average relatively shorter than the outer constituent (pizza). Critically, it will use data from speech production experiments as well as from corpora of spoken English to test the predictions of the hypothesis in an empirically rigorous way. In addition, a speech perception experiment will reveal whether listeners are sensitive to the different degrees of phonetic reduction due to differing boundary strengths, and whether they use it to facilitate the recognition of the internal structure of morphologically complex words.

Responsible for the content: E-MailWebredaktion FOR 2373

Morphologische Einbettung und phonetische Reduktion

Projektleitung

Doktorandin

Annika Schebesta M.A.

Zusammenfassung

Als morphologisch komplexe Wörter werden Wörter bezeichnet, die aus zwei oder mehr Gliedern bestehen, wie etwa die englischen Wörter deepen (aus der Basis deep und dem Suffix -en), oder careless (aus care und -less). Obwohl solche Wörter strukturell ähnlich sind, kann die Grenzstärke zwischen Basis und Suffix variieren. So ist die Grenze in Wörtern, die mit dem Suffix -less gebildet wurden, stärker als jene in Wörtern mit dem Suffix -en, mit der Folge, dass Hörer dazu neigen, careless in seine zwei Glieder zu zerlegen und diese separat zu verarbeiten, während sie deepen eher unzerlegt als ganze Form verarbeiten. Auch die Aussprache von komplexen Wörtern wird durch unterschiedliche Grenzstärken beeinflusst. Die zwei Glieder an einer schwächeren Grenze weisen eine höhere phonologische Integration auf und werden daher häufiger gekürzt oder getilgt, als dies in Wörtern mit einer stärkeren Grenze der Fall ist.

Dieser Effekt von unterschiedlichen Grenzstärken findet sich nicht nur in zweigliedrigen Wörtern, sondern auch in Wörtern mit drei oder mehr Gliedern. Insbesondere die Reihenfolge von Suffixen wird durch Unterschiede in der Grenzstärke bestimmt: Im Allgemeinen ist die Grenze zwischen der Basis und dem ersten Suffix schwächer als die Grenze zwischen der sich daraus ergebenden komplexen Form und dem zweiten Suffix. Im Wort owlishness ist demzufolge die Grenze zwischen owl und -ness schwächer als die Grenze zwischen der eingebetteten komplexen Form owlish und dem äußeren Suffix -ness. Der umgekehrte Fall, komplexe Wörter also, in denen die Grenze innerhalb der eingebetteten Form stärker ist als die äußere Grenze, ist im Englischen sehr selten.

Während diese Grenzstärke-Unterschiede in dreigliedrigen komplexen Wörtern empirisch gut belegt sind, ist bislang unklar, ob sie sich auch im akustischen Sprachsignal widerspiegeln. Aus der Tatsache, dass zweigliedrige Wörter mit einer schwachen Grenze mehr phonetische Reduktion aufweisen als solche mit einer starken Grenze, ergibt sich die Hypothese, dass die eingebetteten Glieder in dreigliedrigen Wörtern mehr zu phonetischer Reduktion neigen, also relativ kürzer sind oder eher zu Tilgung neigen, als das äußere Glied.

Diese Hypothese wird im vorliegenden Projekt überprüft. Zunächst sollen die Ergebnisse einer Pilotstudie repliziert werden, in der festgestellt wurde, dass in dreigliedrigen Komposita wie pizza home delivery das eingebettete Glied (home delivery) im Mittel kürzer war als das äußere Glied (pizza). Weiterhin werden die Vorhersagen, die sich aus der Hypothese ableiten, anhand von Produktionsexperimenten und aus gesprochenen Korpora gewonnenen Daten systematisch überprüft. Zusätzlich soll im Rahmen eines Wahrnehmungsexperiments festgestellt werden, ob Hörer die grenzstärkenbedingten Reduktionsunterschiede wahrnehmen und sie verwenden, um die Verarbeitung der inneren Struktur von morphologisch komplexen Wörtern zu erleichtern.

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt: E-Mail sendenWebredaktion FOR 2373